Give yourself a break.

Although I know sometimes it feels like you cannot afford to rest, even though there is a lot of pressure being put on you, even though you want to spend your time making productive leaps towards your dreams, you cannot keep moving until you collapse. Believe me, I understand. Sometimes you want to keep going until you can’t anymore. You are already stretched so thin.

My usual week starts with having to drop my oldest off at school and then my youngest with the babysitter 20 minutes away.  I work full time and when I’m not working, I’m usually in college classes. Any other free time is spent with Girl scouts, Cheer, or Soccer. There is No TIME for anything else. So believe me when I say, I know what it feels like. But you are allowed to slow down. You are allowed to stop and breathe. You are allowed to stop and smell the roses.

Let yourself relax. It doesn’t mean you are being lazy. It doesn’t mean you are falling apart. Sometimes the best thing is to not push yourself.  Do not push yourself past your limits. Everyone has their limits. And that’s okay.

Disconnect from life. Put the phone down and turn off the tv. Go outside and watch the clouds. De-stress. Slow down. I know this is easier said than done. But by consciously slowing down, it will take a load off of you. In the end, You will feel better.

And I know, sometimes it seems like you have a million things to do and a million different people that you could disappoint; but will any of them be there to pick you up when you over do it? If you go without resting for too long, if you end up reaching a point where you snap and lose it, you will suffer. And then you will have a bigger set back and recovery period than you would if you would have just taken a break.

Schedule time for yourself a few times a month. You deserve it. You have accomplished so much more than you realize. So stop telling yourself that you haven’t or that you aren’t good enough.

You are allowed to have fun. You are allowed to stop and dream, to stop and smell the roses..

 

Author:

28 yrs old. 2 littles. Wine and books. Texas country. #godblesstexas.

Leave a comment